

FEBRUARY 23, 2021 REGULAR BOARD MEETING

BOARDNEWS A GLANCE AT THE DECISIONS OF THE PASADENA ISD BOARD OF TRUSTEES



2020-2021 BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Board President Vickie Morgan

Board Vice-President *Mariselle Quijano*

Board Secretary Fred Roberts

Assistant Secretary Nelda Sullivan

Board Member Jack Bailey

Board Member Marshall Kendrick

Board Member Kenny Fernandez

Superintendent Dr. DeeAnn Powell



TMEA All State Members were honored by the Pasadena ISD Board of Trustees and Superintendent of Schools Dr. DeeAnn Powell. Pictured from left to right are Santiago Fonseca: PMHS, Choir, Tenor 2 and Madeline Blizzard: PMHS, Choir, Soprano 1.



Pasadena ISD's Business Office department was awarded the TASBO Award of Excellence in Financial Management for Business Office Operations. Only eight school districts in Texas qualified for the award.

The seven-member Pasadena ISD Board of Trustees meets regularly once a month at 7 p.m. in the Board Room of the Administration Building at 1515 Cherrybrook Lane. The meetings are open to the public. Call 713-740-0243 for more information. See the website for complete agenda and approved minutes at www.pasadenaisd.org

The Pasadena Independent School District is an equal opportunity employer and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, or disability in employment matters, in its admissions policies, or by excluding from participation in, denying access to, or denying the benefits of district services, academic and/or vocational and technology programs, or activities as required by Title VI and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, the First Amendment of the United States Constitution, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. For information about Title Xr ights, contact the Title IX Coordinator, Tray McCarley, Associate Superintendent for Projects, Planning and Communication, 1515 Cherrybrook, Pasadena, Texas 77502; 713.740.00247. For information about Section 504/ADA rights, contact the Section 504/ADA Coordinator, Jeanne Nelson, Instructional Specialist for Dyslexia, Intervention, and 504, 1515 Cherrybrook, Pasadena, Texas 77502; 713.740.0067.

BOARDNEWS

The Pasadena ISD Board of Trustees approved the following agenda items:

Personnel:

- Approval of the Cooperative Agreement with Texas A&M University and Pasadena ISD for Clinical Teaching Placement
- Certified Personnel for the 2020-2021 School Year
- Support Personnel for the 2020-2021 School Year

Educational Items:

- Approval for Internet Router and Switches (E-Rate), CSP #21P-010DG to Layer 3 Communications, LLC
- Approval for Internet Port Service CNDC (E-Rate), CSP #21P-015DG to Pure Speed Lightwave (PS Lightwave, Inc.)
- Approval for the rejection of all responses submitted for CSP #21P-013DG for Internet Port Service without Transport (E-Rate)
- Approval for the rejection of all responses submitted for
- CSP #21P-014DG for Ethernet Transport to Internet Port (E-Rate)

Financial Items:

- Approval of Budget Amendments for January
- Approval of Board Resolution regarding declaration of emergency, employee compensation, and purchases due to inclement weather the week of February 15-19, 2021



Pasadena ISD's Purchasing department was awarded TASBO Award of Merit for Purchasing Operations for the fifth consecutive year.

Operational Items:

- For Information Only Spotlight on Pasadena ISD Police Department
- Approval of Allowance Expenditure Authorization (AEA) No. 002 for the New Maintenance, Operations and Warehouse Facility Project, in the amount of \$40,425.00
- Approval of AHERA Three Year Re-Inspection Services Agreement with Loflin Environmental Services, Inc., in the amount of \$24,700.

Next Board Meeting:

• Scheduled for March 30, 2021

COMMUNICATION DEPARTMENT

Associate Superintendent for Projects, Planning, and Communication Dr. Troy McCarley

Director Art Del Barrio

Executive Secretary Cynthia Gutierrez

Communication Coordinator Bruce Stone

Communication & Alumni Development Coordinator Reesha Brown

Communications Liaison Maria Mata Communications Liaison Maria Mata

Communication Specialist Kadey Heidrich

Multimedia Specialist Rob Smith

Graphic Designer Lori Grande

Production Specialist Abbigail Ruiz