Students impress judges at Pasadena ISD middle school science fair

Students impress judges at Pasadena ISD middle school science fair
Posted on 03/02/2017
This is the image for the news article titled Students impress judges at Pasadena ISD middle school science fair

Trophy Winners
Top middle school science fair winners: Best Experimental Design - Timothy McCartney, Shaw; Outstanding Real World Application - Holly Tran, Lomax; Best in Show - Ella Daley, Milstead; Honorable Mention - Hannah Brooks and Alexis Benestante, Lomax. Not pictured Most Original – Thang Tran, Morris and Honorable Mention – Mauricio Leal, Melillo.

 Team Winner
First place team winner Angelica Gonzales from Keller. Not shown is her partner Isabella Ambrosio.

More than 100 Pasadena ISD students filled the Carmen Orozco Professional Development Center Monday, Feb. 27, ready to present their projects at the annual Middle School Science Fair. Participating students represented 11 middle school campuses.

Denise Ridgeway, middle school science specialist and facilitator of the event was impressed by the variety and quality of the students’ projects.

“The student projects were highly competitive this year,” said Ridgeway. “More individuals than ever before received recognition at the fair.  The level of science learning was evident in the quality of the projects.  The awards ceremony was well attended by students, parents and faculty members from across the district.” 

Serving as judges for the science fair were science peer facilitators, science leaders and teachers from the campuses, high school science campus content specialists and many district curriculum specialists from the ATCP program and technology department.

The students were judged in eight categories including plant, physical, human and health, math, consumer and environmental sciences, and team division.

First, second and third place ribbons were awarded in each category as well as special trophies for Best in Show, Outstanding Real World Application, Outstanding Experimental Design, Most Original and Honorable Mention.  

Honorable Mention
Honorable mention ribbon winners Sabrina Pector, Morris; Sydney Bodiker, Lomax; Connor King, Melillo; Mia Gallardo, Kendrick; Sheba Joshy, Lomax; Noah Garcia, Melillo; Emily Hoang, Lomax; and Noah Zavala, Kendrick.

Consumer Science: Third place winner Isabella Condado, Lomax and first place winner Dylan Nguyen, Melillo. Not shown second place winner Mauricio Leal, Melillo.

Environmental Science: Third place winner Hannah Brooks, first place winner Alexis Benestante and second place winner Xitlaly Trevino, Lomax.

Health and HumanHealth and Human Science: Third place winner Kathryn Tran, first place winner Holly Tran and second place winner Amy Nguyen, Lomax. 

Life Science
Life Science: Third place winner Laela Salazar and first place winner Melanie Loredo, Lomax and second place winner Nayah Laurent, Milstead.

Math Science: Second place winner Samantha Wilkerson, Morris. Not shown are first place winner Thang Tran, Morris and third place winner Mariah Rodriguez, Roberts.

Plant Science: Third place winner Rebecca Aldaba Ruiz, Keller; first place winner Alexandra Rosales, Lomax and third place winner Sarah Salazar, Melillo. Not show is second place winner Tommy Le, Melillo.

Physical Science: Third place winners Gissely Garza and Axel Olmedo, first place winner Ella Daley, Milstead and second place winner Kaitly Webb, Melillo.

See more photos on our Facebook page